EN / FR

Our Materials

High quality only

Neoprene

A synthetic rubber made by polymerization of chloroprene. Neoprene exhibits good chemical stability and maintains flexibility over a wide range of temperature. Neoprene foam is produced in either closed-cell or open-cell form. The closed-cell version is waterproof and used for wetsuits and drysuits. The foam is formed by injecting the neoprene with nitrogen gas, creating gas cells inside the material thus increasing its insulation properties.

Neoprene is produce in large block of material and cut to the required thickness, varying from 1mm to 10mm. The greater the thickness, the better the thermal insulation. To provide strength and protection, the foam can be laminated on either side with nylon, polyester or various other fabrics.

Due to its inherent structure, neoprene foam has a positive buoyancy. Since the foam largely contains gas pockets, the thickness and the buoyancy of the neoprene decrease at depth, loosing some of its thermal insulation.

The quality of the neoprene depends on the foam used and the density of the material. The amout of gas cells and their size is directly related to the durability of the foam. A denser neoprene will be more durable, less buoyant and resist better to the great ambiant pressure at depth.

YAMAMOTO: Limestone Based Neoprene In an effort to provide the perfect material to its customer, SF Tech is using the best neoprene available on the market. A Japanese neoprene foam made at 99.7% of Limestone, (calcium carbonate) making it more environment-friendly than petroleum-based products. We use only #88 neoprene, a high-density hyper-compressed neoprene foam with excellent thermal insulation, exceptional durability and can withstand high pressure without loosing its properties.

Trilaminate

The term trilaminate means a multi-layered material composed of three layers of overlapping materials, laminated together. An inner and outer linings provide the strength and durability whereas the middle layer ensure the watertightness of the material.

The impermeable material is made of butyl rubber and is just a few tenth of millimeter thick. To avoid tearing and ripping, an outer protective fabric is necessary. Usually, a strong, non-elastic woven material (nylon, polyester, kevlar,...)

Due to its minimal thickness, trilam does not provide any thermal insulation. Therefore, the diver must use appropriate undergarment, generally thicker than with a neoprene drysuit. However, the buoyancy of the material is reduced and the material is drying faster.

Despite the many technological advances and material improvements, the name Trilam stayed and now encompass various materials made from 2 (bi-laminate) up to 8 (octo-laminate) layers.

Technically speaking, as describe above, neoprene is a trilaminate material where the middle liner is made of neoprene. But to avoid confusion, both technical terms, Neoprene and Trialm, are used to describe the categories of products.

TNT:
Titanium Neoprene Trilaminate

Revolutionary material invented and developped in the premises of SF Tech, TNT is a trilaminate material using high density neoprene foam as an impermeable layer instead of butyl rubber.

The initial fabrication process of the TNT is the same as a neoprene material. A layer of neoprene foam is laminated with an inner and outer layer. Then, the overall material undergoes a second compression phase in a hyperbaric chamber. This process creates a thin, flexible, ultra dense neoprene trilaminate. By using neoprene as a impermeable medium instead of butyl, flexibility and heat retaining property are drastically improved, with an increase of heat insulation up to 40%.

To further improve the thermal isolation of the material, a coating of solid Titanium alloy, called Ti-Alpha, is applied directly on either side of the neoprene sheet, creating an efficient insulating barrier. The exterior layer reduces cold absortion and the interior layer increases heat reflection, keeping the warm body temperature inside the suit. By reducing heat exchange and acting as a reflective barrier, the titanium significantly improve thermal insulation up to 40%.

By combining the heat properties of the neoprene and the reflective layers of Titanium, TNT drysuit feels nearly twice as warm as a corresponding butyl trilaminate drysuit.

As with our butyl trilaminate, state of the art textiles are used on our TNT. The Kevlar outer layer is exactly the same and consist of Kevlar reinforced Nylon and Polyester, whereas the inner layer is made of Nylon.

Polartec

Polartec® Power Stretch® has the ability to retain warmth without restricting movement or agility during activities. The outer surface has a low-friction finish that reduces irritation when worn with other fabrics and increases overall abrasion resistance. The next-to-skin layer stays dry, breathable and comfortable by continuously transferring moisture vapor for rapid evaporation. Reinforced elastic fibers ensure the fabric consistently rebounds after every stretch.

This versatility provides flexible support and warmth for reliable comfort in any sport based activity. Polartec® wicks moisture like a base material, but can handle direct exposure to the elements when necessary.

Odor resistant: Garments stay fresher for longer between washes. A silver salt (salt chloride) inhibits the growth of odor causing bacteria for the life of the garment

Durable water repellent: Greatly increases the fabric's inherent ability the resist water and snow without sacrificing breathability

Hardface: Dramatically increases abrasion resistance, reduces surface friction against other layers and adds durable water repellency

Recycled with repreve®: Fabric contains a minimum of 50% Repreve® recycled fibers that conserve energy and reduce CO2 emissions

Easy care: Polartec® fabrics are known for their easy care and lasting durability. Most Polartec® fabric can be washed in warm water and tumbled dry on low and in most cases this will deliver the best post-wash feel and performance

EN / FR

Nos matériaux

Haute qualité uniquement

Néoprène

Un caoutchouc synthétique fabriqué par polymérisation du chloroprène. Le néoprène présente une bonne stabilité chimique et maintient sa flexibilité sur une large plage de température. La mousse de néoprène est produite sous forme de cellules fermées ou cellules ouvertes. La version à cellules fermées est étanche et utilisée pour les combinaisons de plongée. La mousse est formée en injectant du néoprène avec de l'azote, en créant des poches de gaz à l'intérieur du matériau, augmentant ainsi ces propriétés d'isolation.

Le néoprène est produit dans un grand bloc de matériau et coupé à l'épaisseur requise, variant de 1 mm à 10 mm. Plus l'épaisseur est grande, meilleure est l'isolation thermique. Pour fournir résistance et protection, la mousse peut être laminée de chaque côté avec du nylon, du polyester ou divers autres tissus.

En raison de sa structure inhérente, la mousse de néoprène à une flottabilité positive. Comme la mousse contient en grande partie despoches de gaz, l'épaisseur et la flottabilité du néoprène diminuent en profondeur, perdant ainsi une partie de son isolation thermique.

La qualité du néoprène dépend de la mousse utilisée et de la densité du matériau. La quantité de cellules à gaz et leur taille sont directement liées à la durabilité de la mousse. Un néoprène plus dense sera plus durable, aura une flottabilité moindre et résistera mieux à la grande pression ambiante en profondeur.

YAMAMOTO: Néoprène à base de calcaire Afin de fournir le matériau parfait à son client, SF Tech utilise le meilleur néoprène disponible sur le marché. Une mousse de néoprène japonaise fabriquée à 99,7% de calcaire (carbonate de calcium), ce qui la rend plus écologique que les produits à base de pétrole. Nous utilisons uniquement du néoprène #88, une mousse néoprène hyper-compressée haute densité avec une excellente isolation thermique, une durabilité exceptionnelle et pouvant résister à de fortes pressions sans perdre ses propriétés.

Trilaminate

Le terme trilaminate désigne un matériau multicouche composé de trois couches de matériaux superposés, laminés ensemble. Une doublure interne et externe assure la résistance et la durabilité, tandis que la couche intermédiaire assure l'étanchéité du matériau.

Le matériau imperméable est du caoutchouc de butyle et ne fait que quelques dixièmes de millimètres d’épaisseur. Pour éviter une déchirure, un tissu de protection externe est nécessaire. Habituellement, un matériau tissé résistant et non élastique (nylon, polyester, kevlar, ...)

En raison de son épaisseur minimale, le trilam ne fournit aucune isolation thermique. Par conséquent, le plongeur doit utiliser un sous-vêtement approprié, généralement plus épais qu'avec une combinaison étanche en néoprène. Cependant, la flottabilité du matériau est réduite et le matériau sèche plus rapidement.

Techniquement parlant, tel que décrit ci-dessus, le néoprène est un matériau trilaminé dans lequel la couche intermédiaire est en néoprène. Mais pour éviter toute confusion, les deux termes techniques, Néoprène et Trialm, sont utilisés pour décrire les catégories de produits.

TNT:
Titanium Neoprene Trilaminate

Nouveau matériau révolutionnaire inventé et développé dans les locaux de SF Tech, TNT est un matériau trilaminé utilisant une mousse de néoprène haute densité comme couche imperméable au lieu de caoutchouc butyle.

Le processus de fabrication initial du TNT est identique à celui d'un matériau en néoprène. Une couche de mousse de néoprène est laminée avec une couche intérieure et extérieure. Ensuite, le matériau complet subit une seconde phase de compression dans une chambre hyperbare. Ce processus crée un trilaminé de néoprène très fin, flexible et ultra dense. En utilisant le néoprène comme materiel imperméable au lieu du butyle, la flexibilité et la propriété de rétention de la chaleur sont considérablement améliorées, avec une augmentation de l'isolation thermique jusqu'à 40%.

Pour améliorer davantage l'isolation thermique du matériau, un revêtement en alliage de titane solide, appelé Ti-Alpha, est appliqué directement de chaque côté de la feuille de néoprène, créant ainsi une barrière isolante efficace. La couche extérieure réduit l’absorption du froid et la couche intérieure augmente la réflexion de la chaleur, maintenant la température du corps à l’intérieur de la combinaison. En réduisant les échanges thermiques et en agissant comme barrière réfléchissante, le titane améliore considérablement l'isolation thermique jusqu'à 40%.

En combinant les propriétés thermiques du néoprène et des couches réfléchissantes en titane, la combinaison étanche TNT est estimée être presque deux fois plus chaude qu'une combinaison étanche correspondante en trilaminé de butyle.

Comme avec nos combinaison en trilaminé, les textiles de pointe sont utilisés sur notre TNT. La couche extérieure en Kevlar est exactement la même et se compose de nylon et de polyester renforcés de Kevlar, tandis que la couche intérieure est en nylon.

Polartec

Polartec® Power Stretch® a la capacité de retenir la chaleur sans restreindre les mouvements ou l'agilité pendant les activités. La surface extérieure est dotée d'une finition à faible friction qui réduit les irritations lorsqu'elle est portée avec d'autres tissus et qui augmente la résistance globale à l'abrasion. La couche en contact avec la peau reste sèche, respirante et confortable en évacuant continuellement la vapeur d'eau pour une évaporation rapide.Des fibres élastiques renforcées veillent à ce que le tissu revienne toujours en place après avoir été étiré.

Cette polyvalence offre maintien, souplesse et chaleur pour un confort fiable pendant toute activité sportive. Polartec® évacue l'humidité comme une couche de base, mais peut être directement exposé aux intempéries si nécessaire.

Résistant aux odeurs: les vêtements restent plus frais plus longtemps entre les lavages. Un sel d'argent (chlorure de sel) inhibe la croissance des bactéries responsables des odeurs pendant la vie du vêtement

Hydrofuge durable: augmente considérablement la capacité inhérente du tissu à résister à l'eau et à la neige sans sacrifier la respirabilité

Hardface: augmente considérablement la résistance à l'abrasion, réduit le frottement de la surface contre d'autres couches et ajoute une imperméabilité durable

Recyclé avec repreve: le tissu contient au minimum 50% de fibres recyclées Repreve® qui conservent l'énergie et réduisent les émissions de CO2

Entretien facile: les tissus Polartec® sont connus pour leur facilité d'entretien et leur durabilité. La plupart des tissus Polartec® peuvent être lavés à l'eau tiède et mis à sécher à basse température et dans la plupart des cas, ils offriront la meilleure sensation et performance après le lavage.